Finding Solace in Book Clubs?

Book clubs are the new evolving thing. In a way, they are revolutionizing the way we read. Gone are the days when you waited for your best friend to pick up the book you wanted him/her to read since a long time. Then discuss every detail of the novel page by page, character by character, and plot by plot. Now, all you have to do is post your thoughts on these Facebook groups or tweet about it, and you can have a healthy discussion with a not-so-complete stranger about the pros and cons of the book.  

bookclub

I always imagined that book club meetings would be something like they show in these American movies and shows. A bunch of bored women would meet at someone’s house and read out passages from the ‘book-of-the-month’ (that everyone was forced to read irrespective of their tastes) and try to analyze it.

But, of course, a lot has changed since then. The transition from reel to real world is drastic.

Book club meetings in real world are completely different. In the metropolitan cities of India, we are making way for this concept. The Indian bibliophiles have united and we have so many book clubs taking place every month, and a distinctive way of holding up these meets. With age no bar, these book clubs are an escape for bookworms to meet people who read varied books. Moreover, social media makes it truly easy for these bookworms to stay connected. I have never been to a book club meet-up because my introvert self prefers to stay at home and just mourn about the book getting over. But being an old-school traditionalist person, I still prefer discussing my books with my best friends who understand me. It is extremely difficult to express and discuss my worries regarding a book with someone who doesn’t get my way of thinking. Though I am a part of an online book club called The Sunday Book Club on Twitter. Every Sunday they come up with interesting topic that makes you think. I am somewhat able to express myself anonymously and at the same time find someone who resonates with my ideas.

But, how hard is it when it comes to physical meet-ups? We socialize all the time with friends and colleagues, and book clubs should be less about that and more about books. club-de-lecturaBook club meet-ups should be serious business. It should be purely discussion/arguments on novels. How many book clubs manage to do that? The real question is how effective are these book clubs when it comes to discussing genres, authors, and so on? Do they manage to quench your thirst to discuss the book like how you discussed it with your friends? Furthermore, are you able to find solace in these meet-ups?

Do share your thoughts on this with me!

Happy Reading!

3 comments

  1. MyBookJacket · May 28, 2017

    Most of my friends never read so I haven’t been to a book club meeting, not an official one anyway. But I love hearing that indian bibliophiles are coming together.

    Like

    • Reading Glasses · May 28, 2017

      I agree. I do like the fact that bookworms are understanding the need to express their emotions and feelings towards the book. But the real question still persists whether they are able to achieve this.

      Liked by 1 person

      • MyBookJacket · May 28, 2017

        I am not sure if they can. Because it isn’t easy for most introverts to go out and meet haha

        Like

What do you think?